HENNEPIN COUNTY MINNESOTA

FINAL COMMITTEE AGENDA

BOARD OF HENNEPIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS County Administration Committee Thursday, November 29, 2018 1:00 PM Chair: Peter McLaughlin, District 4 Vice-Chair: Linda Higgins, District 2 Members: Mike Opat, District 1 Marion Greene, District 3 Debbie Goettel, District 5 Jan Callison, District 6 Jeff Johnson, District 7

When invited to the podium, please identify yourself, keep your remarks to no more than three minutes, direct comments solely to county board members, and speak respectfully. Your remarks should be limited to topics that are relevant to Hennepin County.

1. Minutes From Previous Meeting

- A. Minutes 11-20-2018 2019 Proposed Budget Public Safety
- B. Minutes 11-20-2018 2019 Proposed Budget Public Works

2. Discussion

A. 2019 Proposed Budget Presentation - Administrator and Commissioner Amendments

HENNEPIN COUNTY

MINNESOTA

COMMITTEE MINUTES

BOARD OF HENNEPIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2018 9:00 AM Chair: Peter McLaughlin, District 4 Vice-Chair: Linda Higgins, District 2

Members: Mike Opat, District 1 Marion Greene, District 3 Debbie Goettel, District 5 Jan Callison, District 6 Jeff Johnson, District 7

Commissioner McLaughlin, Chair, called the meeting of the County Administration Committee for Tuesday, November 20, 2018 to order at 9:03 AM. All Commissioners were present, with the exception of Commissioner Jeff Johnson who was absent.

1. Discussion

A. 2019 Proposed Budget Presentation - Public Safety

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin gave a brief overview, followed by David Hough, County Administrator, who introduced Mark Thompson, Assistant County Administrator – Public Safety. Mr. Thompson shared an overview of the 2019 Proposed Public Safety budget, which was presented by the following individuals:

Jodie Wierimaa, Public Safety Michael Freeman, County Attorney Richard Stanek, County Sheriff Jeff Storms, Chief Deputy Sheriff Catherine Johnson, Corrections and Rehabilitation Director, DOCCR Mary Moriarty, Chief Public Defender

Jeanette Boerner - Public Defender's Office, provided additional information to Commissioners as requested.

2. Public Comment

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin opened the floor for public comment at 11:38 AM. The following individual came forward to provide public comment:

Kathy Czech

Being that no other individuals came forth, Commissioner Peter McLaughlin closed the public hearing at 11:42 AM.

3. Minutes From Previous Meeting

A. 11/08/2017 CBTF/Capital Budget/Fees budget hearing Minutes APPROVED

Commissioner Mike Opat moved to approve the Minutes from the Previous Meeting as corrected, seconded by Commissioner Marion Greene and approved - 7 Yeas

4. Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting of the County Administration Committee for Tuesday, November 20, 2018 was declared recessed at 11:44 AM and approved unanimously. The 2019 Proposed Budget Presentation will reconvene on Tuesday, November 20, 2018 immediately following a Special Board of Commissioners Meeting at 1:00 PM the purpose of which is to schedule a public hearing.

Karen Keller Deputy Clerk to the County Board

HENNEPIN COUNTY MINNESOTA

COMMITTEE MINUTES

BOARD OF HENNEPIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2018

1:00 PM

Chair: Peter McLaughlin, District 4 Vice-Chair: Linda Higgins, District 2

Members: Mike Opat, District 1 Marion Greene, District 3 Debbie Goettel, District 5 Jan Callison, District 6 Jeff Johnson, District 7

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, Chair, called the meeting of the County Administration Committee for Tuesday, November 20, 2018 to order at 1:09 pm. All Commissioners were present except Commissioner Jeff Johnson who was absent.

1. Discussion

A. 2019 Proposed Budget Presentation - Public Works

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin gave a brief overview of 2019 Proposed Budget process, followed by David J. Hough, County Administrator, who provide additional information, and introduced Carl Michaud, Assistant County Administrator of the Public Works division. Mr. Michaud shared an overview of the 2019 Proposed Public Works operating budget, introducing the following individuals who presented additional materials and information for each division:

- Kevin Dockry, Director, Community Works
- Rosemary Lavin, Director, Environment and Energy
- Chris Sagsveen, Director, Transportation Operations
- Carla Stueve, Director, Transportation Project Delivery
- John Doan, Assistant Director, Transportation Planning

2. Public Comment

Commissioner Peter McLaughlin opened the floor for Public Comment at 3:08 PM. No one came forth to provide comment, therefore Commissioner Peter McLaughlin moved to close the Public Comment period at 3:08 PM and approved unanimously.

3. Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting of the County Administration Committee for Tuesday, November 20, 2018 was recessed at 3:10 PM until Tuesday, November 29, 2018 at 1:00 PM.

Yolanda C Clark Deputy Clerk to the Board